Nominating Committee Report to Illinois Yearly Meeting Continuing Committee March 6, 2010

Nominating Committee has been meeting by conference call, to consider the work of finding willing Friends to serve the Yearly Meeting in a variety of ways.

Nominations for consideration:

We ask that you consider for approval the following nominations:

To the Personnel Committee, as an independent member, effective immediately: **Beth Schobernd**

As the clerk of the Personnel Committee, effective immediately: Mike Dennis

As ILYM's representative to Scattergood Friends School, effective immediately, for a 3-year term ending at the close of the 2012 annual session:

Steve Tamari

As ILYM's representative to Friends Peace Teams, effective immediately, for a 3-year term ending at the close of the 2012 annual session:

Debra Penna-Fredericks

As Reading Clerk, effective immediately, for a 3-year term ending at the close of the 2012 annual session: **Monica Tetzlaff**

Terms of service for members of Personnel Committee:

With regard to the Personnel Committee, we bring the following schedule of staggered three-year terms for your consideration. The date indicates the year in which the term ends at the close of ILYM annual session. Since their work is starting between annual sessions, the members of the "class of 2011" will serve for a year and a half, the class of 2012 will serve 2 ½ years, and the class of 2013 will serve for 3 ½ years. Subsequent members will serve regular 3-year terms.

- 2011 Beth Schobernd (independent), Angie Reeks (M&A)
- **2012** Roxy Jacobs (independent), Roger Laughlin (Finance), Dawn Rubbert (Administrative Coordinator's Oversight Committee)
- 2013 Valerie Lester (independent), Mike Dennis (Youth Oversight)

Terms of service for Administrative Coordinator's Oversight Committee:

It has been brought to the attention of Nominating Committee that Friends have been serving on the Administrative Coordinator's Oversight Committee without having terms of service specified. The current committee members have recommended staggered three year terms, with one renewal. With your approval, Nominating Committee will set up these terms with the current committee and amend the Nominating Committee logbook to include the 3-year terms.

FAHE:

Nominating Committee has looked into the practices of Friends Association for Higher Education, and found that they do not seek representatives from Yearly Meetings. They recognize memberships of institutions of higher learning (institutional memberships), and individual memberships of interested individuals. Illinois Yearly Meeting is apparently the only Yearly Meeting that sends a representative. We wonder whether the Yearly Meeting wants to continue the practice of nominating a representative to FAHE.

Nominating Committee asks the help of monthly meeting representatives:

Nominating Committee members don't know everyone in each monthly meeting, and we depend on monthly meeting representatives for help in finding Friends whose gifts can serve the Yearly Meeting. Committees need new members, and wider Quaker organizations need new ILYM representatives. We are eager to hear from monthly meeting representatives about Friends who may be willing to serve. Between now and June, we will be actively working to fill positions. Anyone can submit names and contact information to any member of Nominating Committee: Mike Dennis, Judy Erickson, Brad Ogilve, Sarah Pavlovic, Sue Styer, or Mira Tanna.

We thank those who are currently serving as clerks, serving on committees, or serving as representatives to wider Quaker organizations. We encourage all Friends to be open to the possibilities for service – and to the joys and blessings that can accompany using one's gifts in service to the community.

Sarah Pavlovic For ILYM Nominating Committee